## **MINI MINUTES**

### May 4, 2015 Board Meeting

The Board observed a Minute of Silence in memory of Bettina Rodriguez, student, Garden City Collegiate.

**Received as information:** Collective Bargaining Update, Personnel Matters, Grady Bend Frog Pond Update, Winnipeg Free Press Article: Property Values weigh heavily on school-tax burden across Manitoba, Elwick Village Resource Centre, Board Retreat Draft Agenda, MSBA Liaison Meeting, Meeting with MLA's.

#### Approved:

- That the Board ratify the 2015-2017 Agreement in Committee with the Canadian Union of Public Employees, Local 2348.
- That the Board support a contribution of \$9,000.00 towards the Seven Oaks Monument site drawn from the Division's Capital D Budget.

### **Approved for Payment:**

That cheques #2152322 to #2153021, and #950 to #962, US cheques #215084 to #215103, direct deposits #20155748-20157158, and pre-authorized debits #2015139-2015207 in the amount of \$17,861,371.87 be approved.

# **Correspondence Received:**

- Gaylene Magnowski, Data Coordinator, Manitoba Education and Advanced Learning.
   School code assigned to MET School.
- Manitoba News Release. Manitoba Government Announces Major New Investment in Skills Training.
- Manitoba School Boards Association ebulletin April 29, 2015.
- Ron Basarab, Senior Project Architect, Number TEN Architectural Group. Elwick School Elevator and Renovation Change Order #3.
- Colin Bidzinski, Building Plan Examiner, City of Winnipeg. Building permit for École Rivière-Rouge.

#### **Personnel Report:**

- Susan Kurbis was appointed to the position of Acting Principal, H. C. Avery School, effective May 4, 2015 to June 30, 2015.
- Mark Gilchrist was appointed to the position of Acting Vice-Principal, H. C. Avery School, effective May 4, 2015 to June 30, 2015.
- The following teachers were appointed to Substitute Teacher contracts effective the 2014-2015 school year:

Rachel Atiomo Kristen Maxwell
Ken Benson Kathleen Nelson
Jillian Dempsey Jason Neufeld
Jessica Dupont Bryana Palmer
Karlisle Epp Bailie Park-Payne
Jenna Firth Celeste Perrin

Alyssa Grant Sonia Radi

Jane Hirose Shivram Raveendrabose

Jaylene Hoffman Stephanie Ringer Juan Jimenez Morgan Schrader

Michelle Kostiw Samantha Schewekendiek

Dara Labossiere Jessica Smith Geung Lee Rae-Ann Trudeau

Ian Livingston Emily Vitt

- Carole McMillan was granted a full-time (1.00) leave of absence, without pay, effective the 2015-2016 school year.
- Barbara Tascona was seconded to The Government of Manitoba to provide services to the Students Working Against Tobacco (S.W.A.T.) program, full-time (1.00) effective September 8, 2015 to June 30, 2016.
- Carol Warona gave notice of intent to retire effective April 13, 2015.
- Tammie Lowdon gave notice of intent to retire effective June 30, 2015.
- Linda Bakowski was appointed to the position of secretary-clerk, full-time (7.0 hours per day) effective August 31, 2015.
- Teresa Friesen was appointed to the position of secretary-clerk, part-time (3.5 hours per day) effective August 31, 2015.
- Darlah Klassen gave notice of intent to resign effective May 10, 2015.
- Daniel Herpai gave notice of intent to resign effective June 30, 2015.